Locavore News — World

USDA Releases “Food Hub Resource Guide”

The Food Hub Resource Guide aims to help small-scale farmers reach a wider market base. he USDA unveiled the “Regional Food Hub Resource Guide” at the end of April to offer support to small-scale and mid-sized farmers and producers looking for additional marketing opportunities. “The new guide is the most comprehensive handbook on food hubs ever available,” Merrigan says. “Now farmers, buyers, researchers, consumers or anyone interested in creating a food hub in their community can tap into a single resource to find the information that they need.” HobbyFarms.com story.

 

Foraging for best of Texas

In only a few short months, Natasha Calvert has crisscrossed the state, from north Texas to the Rio Grande Valley, from the Hill Country to the Brazos Valley. But she’s only just begun putting mileage on her car and points on her frequent flyer account. She’s got a lot more farms, small businesses and artisan producers to discover. Her job? Her business card says Texas Local Buyer for Whole Foods, but her position also is labeled “forager.” The latter is a more romanticized, locavore title for her role in discovering and forging relationships with food producers to bring the best Texas goods to her markets. Houston Chronicle story.

 

Seed farm tour, tasting has locavore theme

Salford Seed Farm, 32345 McLagan Road in Tangent, will have its fourth annual Farm Tour and Tasting from 2 to 6 p.m. Saturday, June 30. This year’s theme is “Locavores’ Delight” because the farm has invited other farmers, beekeepers and producers of local foods to bring their wares and tell their stories. Organizations and individuals who are active in building community through local food will also be on site. Democrat Herald story.

 

Clarence Birdseye: A fresh-frozen foodie’s passion

Every generation has its own foodies. Clarence Birdseye, born in Brooklyn in 1886 and remembered as the father of frozen food, was one of the leading foodies of his generation. He loved food, talked about it constantly and mentioned what he was eating in almost every letter he wrote. In a 1915 letter to his family from Labrador, where he was a fur trader, Birdseye wrote: “Every letter has to begin with something about food. These are the two items of principal interest today,” and proceeded to describe the butter he had acquired from a neighbor and the fresh seal meat he had eaten. McClatchy Newspapers D.C. story.

 

The Locavore Next Door: From Market to Plate

So what can I make with grass-fed flank steak, my own basil and parsley, and local honey?  An amazing Italian Marinated Flank Steak with Fresh Herbs.  This flan.k steak has a great flavor (no steak sauce needed) and is so tender that a steak knife is not required.  Just in time for the summer grilling season. Carrie Robinson blog from Bridgeport.

 

The Accidental Locavore-Back in Business With a New Farm Box!

You know that old saying about one door closing*? After going through the six phases of grief (five, plus I added one: blogging), the Accidental Locavore found the perfect solution to the weekly farm box, CSA, self-shopping dilemma, almost literally on her doorstep. Website.

 

The Roving Locavore

Inspired by my new countertop appliances, the slow cooker and the food mill, (which I really didn’t need since I have a mini-chop. But the food mill’s bigger. And looks sleek. Post-consumer rationalization…) I’ve been pureeing a lot. Last night I whipped up a big batch of garlicky hummus with the chickpeas I’d simmered in the slow cooker. The meal came together around these chickpeas from various points: ground lamb I’d picked up recently and frozen, not knowing what to do with it; a selection of Mediterranean nightshades shivering and withering in the fridge (zucchini, eggplant, peppers, grape tomatoes); a craving for my favorite tahini sauce; and the inspiration of Cafe Maude‘s lamb skewers, which my family loves. Website.

 

Charlotte Locavore: A Visit to East of Eden Farm

A few months ago, heritage poultry advocate and chef Steve Pope visited Charlotte. I had the pleasure of attending his dinner at 7th Street Public Market (read about it here) it was truly an enlightening and informative evening. It left me with a deep appreciation for the conservationists and farmers who are working hard to bring back many heirloom breeds of chicken that are in danger of extinction. Website.

 

Locavore Review

I’m almost ashamed to admit that it took me an entire year to read Locavore. I spotted it, by mistake, at Wal-mart of all places on a trip to pick up some formula. I grabbed it and started to read, oblivious to time, as a slightly distraught Sean +baby came to notify me that my visit had exceeded his definition of running in. I added the book to my basket, and read the first two chapters on the way home. A Random Sampling blog.

 

Peanut Butter French Toast

As kids my Mom would always let us pick what we wanted on our birthdays for breakfast.  My choice was always Peanut Butter French Toast.  I’m not sure where the original recipe came from; whether my Mom made it up to appease my enthusiastic food crush or whether she found it somewhere. ’d forgotten about Peanut Butter French Toast as I’ve not had it as an adult, however last week was my birthday and for some reason it sprang to mind.  I decided it was the perfect time to create a current recipe to bring my childhood memory out of mothballs into the present.  It also meshed with what I really wanted to do for my birthday which was go strawberry picking at a favorite local organic farm.  I thought making some Homemade Organic Strawberry Syrup would be a great match. Boulder Locavore blog.

 

AND IF YOU HAVE TIME

 

Why do so few Amish have so few allergies?

From Reuters: “Holbreich, an allergist in Indianapolis, has been treating Amish communities in Indiana for two decades, but he noticed that very few Amish actually had allergies.” This anomaly leads us to ask… Why do so few Amish have so few allergies? Topics include the incidence of allergies within the Amish community; speculation as to why Amish farm children have so few allergies; and what the general population might learn from the Amish about allergies. Guest: Allergist / Immunologist Dr. Mark Hobreich. MetroFarm Show #775 Listen Now

Leave a Reply

